How We Operate

When people generously donate their money or fundraise for Comic Relief, they trust that we’ll spend their cash wisely. With that trust, comes huge responsibility which we take very seriously indeed.

Ok, here comes the legal bit… Comic Relief is a UK registered company limited by guarantee and a charity registered with the Charity Commission in England & Wales (326568) and with OSCR in Scotland (SC039730).

What that doesn’t tell you is that, as well as being an official UK charity, we’re also absolutely committed to maintaining the best standards in everything we do. When it comes to raising money for example, we’re a member of the Fundraising Standards Board and strive to comply with fundraising best practice. 

Six year strategy 2014-2020

Our strategy is in place to help us achieve our vision of a just world free from poverty. The strategy's core aims are to:


Remain pre-eminent as a UK fundraiser and measure success by a combination of income levels, public participation figures and creative excellence and high appreciation.


Grow Comic Relief’s total income by continuing to bring in money outside of the main UK campaigns and by increasing international revenue.


Deliver an ambitious grants programme aligned with the organisation strategy, communicate it to key stakeholders and demonstrate the difference made with the money raised.


Run Comic Relief efficiently and transparently, nurture core partnerships and ensure it is fit for the future.


Support work that encourages creativity and new approaches to delivering change for the disadvantaged people that Comic Relief exists to support.

Our Grant Making

Comic Relief’s vision is a Just World Free From Poverty, where everyone is safe, healthy, educated and empowered. We aim to bring about real and lasting change by tackling the root causes of poverty and social injustice. So, to drive this change, we award grants to incredible projects on the ground that work to give people a leg up, not a hand out.

We put people at the heart of our grant making. This means working in partnership with people and organisations to co-create solutions to the challenges they face. We allocate funding under four programme areas:

  • Investing in children
    and young people

  • Empowering women
    and girls

  • Improving health
    and wellbeing

  • Building stronger

We are committed to ensuring all the money we are responsible for is genuinely making as big a difference as it possibly can. That’s why we monitor and evaluate the difference our funding is making and every few years, we review our grant-making strategy and adapt it, to ensure we're flexible and responsive to the changing world around us.

Learn more about our grant making